Hosts Win Two Titles at Japan Open 2022


The home team brought two titles at the Japan Open 2022 which were won by Kenta Nishimoto in the men's singles and Akane Yamaguchi in the women's singles respectively.

In the final match at Maruzen Intec Arena, Osaka, Sunday, Nishimoto presented Japan's first title after defeating fourth seed from Taiwan, Chou Tien Chen, 21-19, 21-23, 21-17.

The title is Nishimoto's first since entering a senior-level international tournament in 2013. The 21st-ranked badminton player in the world has also become the new Japan Open 2022 champion after being dominated in the last two editions by another representative from Japan, Kento Momota.

Japan secured a second title in Osaka today thanks to Yamaguchi's victory over South Korean third seed An Se-young 21-9, 21-15. It was the third title for Yamaguchi to complete the title in the 2013 and 2019 editions of the championship.

The home team actually has the opportunity to bring three titles through the mixed doubles Yuta Watanabe / Arisa Higashino. However, the third seed failed to overcome the resistance of the world number one pair from Thailand, Dechapol Puavaranukroh / Sapsiree Taerattanachai.

Yuta/Arisa, who the day before managed to stop the winning record of Chinese representatives Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong, again failed to become champions in front of the public themselves after losing 21-16, 21-23, 18-21 to Dechapol/Sapsiree in the final.

Dechapol/Sapsiree became the new Japan Open champions after Sudket Prapakamol/Saralee Thungthingkam who won the title in 2005. In the last four editions, the mixed doubles champion has always been won by Chinese representatives Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong and Wang Yi Lyu/Huang Dong Ping who took turns to climb the top podium in the 2016-2019 period.

In the women's doubles, Jeong Na-eun/Kim Hye-jeong won the All Korean Final who finally managed to break the defense of Baek Ha-na/Lee Yu-lim in a tight 1.5-hour battle that ended with a score of 23-21, 28- 26.

Meanwhile, the men's doubles title belonged to China thanks to the victory of Liang Wei Keng/Wang Chang over the Danish pair Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen 21-18, 13-21, 21-17. Liang/Wang became the new Japan Open 2022 champions after the last three editions were always dominated by Indonesian representatives Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo.

Leave a Reply